Honors & Awards

David Ray has received honors including:

  • 2008 Paterson Award for Literary Excellence for When

  • 2007 Paterson Award for Literary Excellence for Music of Time

  • 2005 Finalist in Paterson Poetry Prize for One Thousand Years

  • 2003 Finalist in the Strokestown Poetry Contest, Ireland, for the poem "Grace Under Fire"

  • 2001 The Nuclear Age Peace Foundation Poetry Prize

  • 1999 The Richard Snyder Memorial award from Ashland Poetry Press for Demons in the Diner

  • 1999 Flyway Literary Review's Poetry Award

  • 1998 Amelia longpoem award for "Letter from Arizona to Dave Ignatow"

  • 1997 Explorations magazine prize for poetry

  • 1997 New Millennium Writings poetry award

  • 1997 Allen Ginsberg Poetry Award from the Poetry Center, Paterson, NJ

  • 1996 New England Poetry Club Daniel Varoujan Award

  • 1994 William Carlos Williams prize from the Poetry Society of America for Wool Highways

  • 1993 H.G. Roberts Foundation Writing Awards for a poem and a creative essay

  • 1988 Maurice English Award for Poetry for Sam's Book

  • 1984 Fellowship, Rockefeller Conference & Study Center, Bellagio, Italy

  • 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987 P.E.N. Syndicated Fiction Awards for short stories

  • 1983 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Creative Writing

  • 1982 N.T. Veatch Award for Distinguished Research & Creative Activity from University of Missouri

  • 1981-1982 Indo-U.S. Fellowship from Council for International Exchange of Scholars

  • 1979 William Carlos Williams prize from the Poetry Society of America for The Tramp's Cup

  • 1979 Editorial Fellowship awarded by the Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines

  • 1966-1971 Fellowship from the Abraham Woursell Foundation and the University of Vienna

Contents of this website © David Ray 2011